ICM Graduation – Sierra Leone

3:48pm GMT, Saturday, 17 March 2007

ICM's Director of External Relations, Mr Chris Curran, pictured with ICM Graduates from Freetown and Bo.

Business professionals, academics and politicians gathered together on the 17th March to pay tribute to ICM students from Freetown and Bo and to new Honorary Fellows of the Institute.

The graduation ceremony held at the British Council, Freetown was awash with speeches from many dignitaries including the Minister of Education, the Mayor of Freetown and the former Lord Chief Justice.

Participants were clearly inspired by the dignitaries’ words of encouragement, by their support for education and their backing of ICM programmes. A surprise was also on hand when a scholarship was presented to DJ Base in person, a man whose voice is known across Sierra Leone.

In addition to the graduation awards, Honorary Fellowships were awarded to the following people by ICM’s Director of External Relations, Mr. Chris Curran, in recognition of their outstanding contributions to education and social and economic development in Sierra Leone.

Dr. Alpha T. Wurie BSc. MSc. PHd

Minister of Education Science & Technology

Hon. Hafsatu Kabba BA. Dip.

Member of Parliament

Major General Edwin Sam-Bohma BA. MBA

ICM Sierra Leone Graduation

Army Chief of Staff

Mr. Brima Acha Kamara BA. MIIP. MBA

Inspector General of Police

Prof. Alghali Aliyadeen Mohamed BSc. MSc. PHd

Vice Chancellor, Njala University

Prof. Abdulah Mansaray BSc. MSc. PHd

Deputy Vice Chancellor, Njala University

Prof. Jonas Redwood-Sawyer BSc. MSc. PHd

Dept. Vice Chacellor, University of Sierra Leone

Dr. Cladious Bert-Williams BSc. MSc. PHd

Director Institute Of Public Administration and Management

Dr. Danteh Bendu BSc. MSc. MSc. PHd

Head Department of Accounting and Finance, Fourah Bay College

Dr. Ibi H. May-Packer BSc. MSc. PHd

The proportion of students from state schools going on to higher education rose to 87.4% in 2005-06.

Director Institute of Directors

Dr. Paula Kamara BSc. MBA. PHd

Director Institute of Advanced Management & Technology

Mr. Joseph Abass Bangura MAAT. ACCA. FIPFM. ACA

Chief Finance Officer, Africell Lintel (SL) Limited

Mr. Ronald Kuwaku Hingston BSc. CIMA. AIIA

Deputy Managing Director, National Insurance Company

Mr. Edmond Koroma MSc. MBA

Director General , National Social Security & Insurance Trust

Mr. Kanja Sesay BA. MA

Commissioner of the National Commission for Social Action

Mr. John Karimu BSc. MSc. MBA

Commissioner National Revenue Authority